Send to a Friend

Your name*

Your email adress*

Your friend's email address*


Access to Insight Grants Core Faculty

Novo Nordisk Access to Insight is steered by an international Access to Insight Grants Core Faculty, a group of 2 distinguished haemostasis experts: Nigel Key (Chair) and Christopher A. Ludlam. The Core Faculty members are dedicated to identifying the most promising applicants and ensuring a fair selection process.

Novo Nordisk is the sponsor of Access to Insight, but has no impact on the selection of research/project topics and decision regarding winning applications. Novo Nordisk will have a representation in the Core Faculty of two members with no voting power in the funding decision. Novo Nordisk will provide comments for consideration and will serve as coordinator of the programme.

Nigel Key and Christopher A. Ludlam have been involved in the development of the Access to Insight programme from the start, and the research scope, the application and review process, and the composition of the Review Board were finalised with their agreement. They, together with a Review Board of independent haemostasis experts, will select the recipients only after all applications have undergone a detailed scientific peer review. Members of the Review Board are listed below.

Your Access to Insight

“The Novo Nordisk Access to Insight programme will help dedicated researchers to advance the understanding of haemostasis and improve patient care. We hope to literally open new doors for the next generation of physicians with an interest in bleeding disorders.”

Nigel Key, MB ChB, FRCP
Chair of the Access to Insight Grants Core Faculty

Core Faculty Members

Nigel Key, MB ChB, FRCP

Chair of the Access to Insight Grants Core Faculty
Harold R. Roberts Comprehensive Hemophilia Diagnostic and Treatment Center, University of North Carolina School of Medicine at Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Nigel Key is currently the Harold R. Roberts Distinguished Professor at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine and Director of the Harold R. Roberts Comprehensive Hemophilia Diagnostic and Treatment Center in Chapel Hill, NC, USA.

A recipient of the Researcher of the Year Award from the National Hemophilia Foundation, Dr. Key is the current President of the Hemophilia and Thrombosis Research Society, a Council member of the International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis and an Executive Committee member of the World Federation of Hemophilia. His National Institutes of Health (NIH)-funded laboratory research is focused on the measurement of intravascular tissue factor in disease states. He is also a reviewer for numerous professional journals.

Christopher A. Ludlam, MB ChB, PhD, FRCP, FRCPath

Professor of Haematology and Coagulation Medicine

Christopher Ludlam is Professor of Haematology and Coagulation Medicine at the University of Edinburgh and Director of the Haemophilia and Thrombosis Centre at the Royal Infi rmary of Edinburgh. Dr. Ludlam has been Chairman of the UK Haemophilia Centre Doctors’ Organisation and President of the British Society of Haemostasis and Thrombosis. He has served as chairman or a member of national committees advising on the provision of haemophilia and coagulation services in the UK and Europe. Recently he was Co-chairman of the European Interdisciplinary Working Group. Currently he is President of the European Association for Haemophilia and Allied Disorders. Over the past 25 years, his major activities have been towards promoting the development of safe therapeutic products for haemophilia.

Review Board Members

Jan Astermark, M.D. PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Hematology and Coagulation Disorders
Skåne University Hospital Malmö/Lund, Sweden

Victor Blanchette, MD, FRCP, FRCPC

Chief of the Division of Haematology/Oncology at the Hospital for Sick Children and Professor of Paediatrics at the University of Toronto

Giancarlo Castaman, M.D.

Head, Center for Bleeding Disorders and Coagulation
Florence, Italy

David Lillicrap, MD, FRCPC

Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine,
Queen's University in Kingston, Canada

Robert R. Montgomery MD

Professor of Pediatric Hematology
Medical College of Wisconsin, USA
Department of Pediatrics Medical College of Wisconsin, USA
Blood Research Institute, Blood Centre of Wisconsin

Claude Negrier, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine
Claude Bernard University of Lyon, France
Chairman of the Hematology Division at Edouard Herriot University Hospital Hemophilia and Thrombosis Comprehensive Care Center

Johannes Oldenburg, MD

University Clinic Bonn
Chairman and Director
Institute of Experimental Haematology and Transfusion Medicine
Bonn, Germany

Steven Pipe, M.D.

Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology
Laurence A. Boxer Research Professor of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases
Director, Division of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
Pediatric Medical Director, Hemophilia and Coagulation Disorders Program
Director, Special Coagulation Laboratory
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Arlette Ruiz-Sáez, MD, MSc

Head of the National Haemophilia Centre and Head of the Research and Teaching Department at the Banco Metropolitano de Sangre in Caracas, Venezuela.

Midori Shima, M.D.

Department of Pediatrics,
Nara Medical University, Japan



If you are interested in
receiving the Newsletter,
please sign up.